Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Tuscarawas News Detail

KSU Museum Director Accepts Presidency of International Committee for Museums and Collections of Costume

Posted Feb. 7, 2014

KSU Museum Director Jean DruesedowJean Druesedow, director of the Kent State University Museum, is the newly elected chair of the International Committee for Museums and Collections of Costume, a subset of the International Council of Museums (ICOM). ICOM is a nonprofit established in 1946 with formal ties to the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). The organization also has a consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC).

The ICOM Costume Committee bills itself as “a forum for museum professionals committed to the study, interpretation and preservation of all aspects of apparel.” Its members exchange information on research projects, exhibitions, and conservation and storage techniques. The committee meets annually in cities across the globe.

The Costume Committee also maintains a set of “Guidelines for Costumes” (available in several languages) and the website “Clothes Tell Stories: Working with Costume in Museums” ( These resources are aimed at educating small or specialty museum staffs on best practices for costume preservation and the role of costume in illuminating historical narratives.

Jean Druesedow was elected to a three-year term and will serve as committee chair through late 2016. The Costume Committee is governed by an unsalaried board consisting of chair, secretary, vice chair, treasurer and three at-large members. The committee’s total current membership is more than 250.

Jean will preside over upcoming meetings of the Costume Committee in Greece (2014) and Amsterdam (2015). She will also serve as committee chair when the whole of ICOM (composed of 31 international committees) convenes for its next triennial conference in Milan in 2016.

For more information, visit: