Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Tuscarawas News Detail

Kent State’s Journalism School Places in Top 10 of National Competition

Posted Jul. 1, 2013
enter photo description
This spring, the School of Journalism and Mass Communication
recognized more than 40 students for earning national awards
in journalism and communication competitions.

The School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Kent State University finished in eighth place in the overall national championship of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program. The school also earned seventh place rankings in both the photojournalism and multimedia categories. It will receive medallions for each award.

Often called “The Pulitzers of college journalism,” the Hearst program holds yearlong competitions in writing, photojournalism, broadcast news and multimedia for journalism undergraduates. Journalism schools accumulating the most points earned by their students in each category are designated the winners of the intercollegiate competitions.

“I could not be more proud of our students and faculty who worked so hard to compete on a national level,” says Thor Wasbotten, director of Kent State’s School of Journalism and Mass Communication. “The results prove what we already knew — our students are some of the most respected in the nation, and our school provides a relevant education focused on real experiences.”

An Award-Winning Year
This latest honor wraps up the journalism school’s most successful year ever in national journalism and communication competitions, making 2012-2013 the most award-winning year for its photojournalism program in the last 30 years.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program consists of five monthly writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, one radio and two TV broadcast news competitions, and four multimedia competitions, with championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually. Participation in the program is open to undergraduate journalism majors enrolled in Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications-accredited domestic universities.

For a complete listing of championship and intercollegiate competition winners, visit the Hearst Journalism Awards Program website.