Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Tuscarawas News Detail

3rd Annual Spring Celebration and Awards Held April 12

Posted May. 9, 2013

The college honored students and faculty, recognized four individuals instrumental to the founding of the college, thanked four community partners and celebrated the career of a retired area public health director at its third-annual spring celebration and awards program on April 12.
Undergraduate academic excellence awards were received by Shelby Barnes, Rachael Nolan and Nicole Van Riper.  The graduate student excellence award was given to Dana Mowls.  Melissa Zullo, Ph.D., MPH, and Jennifer Ray-Tomasek, Ph.D., received Faculty of the Year awards, which were determined by students.
Founders Awards, for distinguished service and contributions to the building of the college, were presented to four individuals:  Epidemiology Professor J. Michael Moser, M.D., MPH; R. Scott Olds, H.S.D., professor and interim chair, Social & Behavioral Sciences; Thomas W. Brewer, Ph.D., associate dean, undergraduate affairs and associate professor, Social & Behavioral Sciences; and Florence Fiehn, retired administrative assistant.
C. William Keck, M.D., MPH, was recognized with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his distinguished career serving the public health needs of the community of Akron and the State of Ohio.
The college honored four local health departments with Community Partner Awards, in gratitude for continued support and partnership:  the City of Kent Health Department, the Ravenna Health Department, the Portage County Combined General Health District and Summit County Public Health.