Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Tuscarawas News Detail

Kent State University Honors Student Receives Woodrow Wilson Teaching Fellowship

Posted Jan. 24, 2011

Anna Levina, Honors student at Kent State University, is a recipient of the 2011 Woodrow Wilson Teaching Fellowship. Only 80 fellowships are awarded across the entire state. The award signifies excellence in academic achievement of future STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) scholars.

Anna Levina is a senior mathematics major at Kent State. She says she elected to major in pure mathematics for "the challenge, the excellent professors, and the general math department crowd."

Throughout her undergraduate career, she has spoken at several math conferences and has participated in a research experience at Cornell University. Anna is a member of the Kent State Chapter of Pi Mu Epsilon, the National Honorary Mathematics fraternity. Anna's decision not to pursue higher-level mathematics came as a surprise to many people in her life, but she is excited to begin a different journey which connects more with one of her on-campus experiences-tutoring math through the Academic Success Center. The exposure to students in lower-level math both cemented her desire to teach as well as shaped her current educational philosophy.

She is currently working on her Senior Honors Thesis titled "A Mathematical Mirror: A Journey from the Abstract to the Beautiful in the Echo of the M.C. Escher/George Polya Relationship" under the supervision of faculty advisor Mark Lewis. Levina was also awarded the Research and Sponsored Programs Honors Thesis Fellowship for the 2010-2011 academic year to assist her in writing her thesis. She will graduate in May 2011 with her Bachelor of Science in Mathematics and will pursue graduate studies at John Carroll University.

The Woodrow Wilson Teaching Fellowship in Ohio

The Woodrow Wilson Teaching Fellowship gives students rigorous teacher preparation, extensive clinical experience, and ongoing mentoring. Recipients receive a $30,000 stipend for their studies and commitment to teaching. Students begin their master's programs in the summer of 2011 at one of four Ohio institutions. Participating institutions in the program include the University of Akron, Ohio State University, John Carroll University and the University of Cincinnati.

Recipients of the scholarship, in exchange for their award, commit to teaching at a high-need middle or high school for three years after completion of the year-long program.

Participating school districts in the program include Akron Public Schools, Canton City Schools, Cincinnati Public Schools, Cleveland Metropolitan School District and Columbus City Schools.

For more information, please visit: